Zakka Home Book Tour!

Hello and welcome to the Homemakery and my spot on the Zakka Home Book Tour!

Zakka Home is the long awaited second book from Sedef Imer and the follow up to her first book Quilt Petite. Lets be honest there are a lot of craft books out there (I mean a lot) but when my copy of Zakka Home arrived I was blown away by the stunning photography (its a gorgeous book to flick through, coffee table gorgeous) but also the projects are pretty and practical and as someone who loves making things for my home I was smitten on my first flick through!

Having just had a baby I was a little nervous about committing to a new project not knowing whether I would be able to find the time to complete it, but once I started flicking through Sedef’s stunning book I wanted to make ALL the projects, they are all so gorgeous!

I eventually narrowed it down to the Bouquet Embroidery on page 28 knowing I could easily pick it up when I got a couple of spare minutes. I photocopied the pattern from the back of the book and using a Frixion pen traced it onto some plain Lecien embroidery fabric. I selected my own colour palette of embroidery threads (3813, 989, 561, 815, 224, 962, 3809) and got stitching.

All the embroidery stitches you use for this pattern are illustrated in the book so if you are a beginner or need a quick reminder of how to do a stitch they are all there to hand.

I really enjoyed stitching this project in the evenings when the baby was tucked up in bed, it was lovely to get some well deserved me time!

When I had finished my embroidery I gently ironed the back to get rid of any remaining frixion pen marks and then wrapped bias binding around the hoop to finish it off. It now hangs proudly in my guest room, my first post baby project!

It certainly won’t be my last as Sedefs book is filled with adorable projects for the home in mouthwatering pretty fabrics. Do check out Zakka Home on Amazon as they have the look inside feature so you can take a peek for yourself at the projects and the stunning photography inside.

Hop along with the rest of the Zakka Home Book Tour!

The book tour started with Sedef at Down Grapevine Lane and circles back to her on 19th November, there is a very lovely giveaway over on Sedefs blog, so make sure you hop over and enter!

To catch up from the start you can find the full schedule here:

22 October – Sedef Imer – Down Grapevine Lane – @downgrapevinelane
23 October – Jemima Flendt – Tied With A Ribbon – @tiedwitharibbon
24 October – Minki Kim – Minki’s Work Table – @zeriano
25 October – Jane Davidson – Quilt Jane – @quiltjane
26 October – Elizabeth Chappell – Quilters Candy Box – @quilterscandybox
27 October – Lauren Wright – Molly and Mama – @mollyandmama
28 October – Sarah Scott – Piccolo Studio – @piccolostudio_sarah
29 October – Alyce Blyth – Blossom Heart Quilts – @blossomheartquilts
30 October – Emily Dennis – Quilty Love – @emily_dennis_
31 October – Sharon Burgess – Lilabelle Lane Creations – @lilabellelane
1 November – Wynn Tan – Zakka Art – @zakkaArt
2 November – Amanda Woodruff – A Crafty Fox – @a.crafty.fox
4 November – Samantha Dorn – Aqua Paisley Studio – @aqua_paisley
5 November – Love Patchwork & Quilting – @lovequiltingmag
6 November – Kate May – The Homemakery – @thehomemakery
7 November – Ayda Algin – Cafe Nohut – @cafenohut
8 November  – Faith Essenburg – Sarana Ave – @faithessenburg
9 November – Nadra Ridgeway – Ellis & Higgs – @ellisandhiggs
10 November – Fat Quarter Shop – @fatquartershop
11 November – Laura Cunningham – @laura_zuckerkuss
12 November – Bev McCullough – Flamingo Toes – @flamingotoes
13 November – Amy Smart – Diary of a Quilter – @diaryofaquilter
14 November – Riley Blake Designs – @rileyblakedesigns
15 November – Michelle Hickson – @coleandtaffy
16 November – Christopher Thompson – The Tattooed Quilter – @the_tattooed_quilter
17 November – Ange Hamilton – A Little Patchwork – @alittlepatchwork
18 November – Sarah Ashford – Sarah Ashford Studio – @sarahashfordstudio
19 November –  Sedef Imer – Down Grapevine Lane – @downgrapevinelane (ROUND UP)

Tomorrow is the turn of Ayda Algin and her gorgeous blog  Cafe Nohut so be sure to check out her Zakka Home project. You can also follow the Book Tour on Instagram by searching the following hashtags: #zakkahome  #zakkahomebooktour

Thanks so much for popping by and as always Happy Sewing!

Kate signature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *